These Are My Confessions… (Movie Confession Blogathon)

Myfilmviews.com has started a blogathon covering movie bloggers cinematic sins and I thought it would be interesting to reconsider my movie past. If you are feeling courageous enough to reveal your movie transgressions, feel free to share them below.

Here is a link to the original post that I am responding to:  http://bit.ly/NIDJ4t

Which classic movie don’t you like/can’t enjoy and why?

I’m not sure how anyone is going to define “classic”, but I have been under the impression that Steven Spielberg’s Close Encounters of the Third Kind is a classic, or at least a science fiction classic. And even being a fan of the science fiction genre, I did not enjoy this film. I was bored by it and ultimately the ending left me completely unsatisfied, especially from what I had heard about the film.

Which ten classic movies haven’t you seen yet? 

This list for me could easily be increased to fifty but I will try and pick the 10 most egregious. (Maybe this will lead me to making a more consorted effort to seek them out.)

1. Lawrence of Arabia

2. Double Indemnity

3.  Apocalypse Now

4. 8 1/2 (This one is doubly difficult to admit because I have owned it for a year and a half)

5. The Third Man

6. Fanny and Alexander

7. Vertigo 

8. E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial

9. The Seven Samurai 

10. Dawn of the Dead

Have you ever sneaked into another movie at the cinema?

Ummm, yes I have. I have never sneaked into the theater without paying, but I have taken in a few double-features. I’m not made of money.

Which actor/actress do you think is overrated?

I could go super conservative here and say Vince Vaughn, I don’t think he is funny and I don’t understand how he gets as much work as he does. But I don’t think many people would disagree with me. (or I could go with Adam Sandler or Mark Wahlberg)  But I absolutely do not understand the other-worldly obsession with Robert Downey Jr., especially in the past few years. Primarily playing Sherlock Holmes and Tony Stark, his performances are caricatures flooded with snark. And oh are his characters soooo witty! Did you see him at the last Academy awards? (Not a huge fan of Brad Pitt either…)

From which big director have you never seen any movie (and why)?

I guess going along with my top ten list of classics I havn’t seen, Federico Fellini is the biggest gap in the greats that I haven’t seen any films. I don’t think there is any one reason that has stopped me from watching Fellini but every time I want to watch  8 1/2 I seem to be tired. (subtitles and sleep do not mix)

Which movie do you love, but is generally hated?

Maybe it was that time in my life, by I love Nacho Libre. I have seen it probably forty times and think it is hilarious. I probably haven’t seen it in three years, so I am be disgusted the next time I run across it (my DVD copy skips so I stopped watching it). I’m not entirely proud of it either, but there you go. I think the same can be said of Dodgeball (although, I’m not sure how hated that movie is.).

Have you ever been “one of those annoying people” at the cinema?

I am very anal about my movie going experiences. I usually wait a week or so after a movie comes out so that I miss the bigger crowds. When I do go to a crowded showing I cannot stand when people are distracting, or even when they make their expressions verbal. (Whoa!, No!) Or even applause, I can understand if a film is outstanding but you get some people who clap after every movie. If the whole house isn’t applauding then it probably doesn’t warrant it. But… that being said, while in high school I went to see Peter Jackson’s King Kong, and we heckled that movie to death. I don’t think many people minded either. I was probably spurred on to ruining that movie but I truly disliked it, and can’t believe that it has an 84% on Rotten Tomatoes. I can’t see myself doing the same thing today, just because my tendencies to get annoyed for little things at theaters.   

Did you ever watch a movie, which you knew in advance would be bad, just because of a specific actor/actress was in it? Which one and why?

I went to see Away We Go, because of John Krasinski. I hadn’t seen any films with him up to that point and The Office was still a huge favorite for me (can’t say that now unfortunately). While it wasn’t good by any stretch, it was bearable. I have had opposite reactions to certain films though. I went to see Crazy, Stupid, Love, because of Steve Carrell (the Office again) and Ryan Gosling, whom I really like, and was pleasantly surprised that it wasn’t terrible.

Did you ever not watch a specific movie because it had subtitles? 

The only thing that will stop me from watching a subtitled movie is how tired I am. Too many times I have sat down to watch a foreign film a little drowsy and fallen asleep. And if I miss even a few lines of dialogue I have to rewind or stop watching so that I can watch the whole thing over again. (probably why I haven’t seen 8 1/2 yet.) I genuinely love foreign films and will seek them out at home or in theaters.

Are there any movies in your collection that you have had for more than five years and never watched?

I have a Godfather Trilogy set in my collection and I have never watched The Godfather, Part III. I understand why people love the Godfather movies, and understand why they are great films, but they are not my favorite to watch, so I have seen the first two films two or three times. The reputation of the third film has stopped me from seeing the whole collection. Once when my wisdom teeth were taken out my mom bought me a few movies from the cheap bins to pass the time off from school, (Bench Warmers and Silent Hill) and I have never watched them. I’m not sure why she chose those specifically, but there is not question why I haven’t put myself through that. I also have a DVD of Jaws that i have never watched.

Which are the worst movies in your collection and why do you still own them?

I don’t ever throw away DVDs so I have had some of these ones for a very long time. Some of them have been gifts, some I purchased back in middle school. Planet of the Apes, and not the origianl, the 2001 Tim Burton/Mark Whalburg masterpiece. I, Robot, I saw this in theaters and loved it, and bought it on DVD when it came out. Bench Warmers and Silent Hill which I explained in the previous question. Hitch, I loved Will Smith when I was 14. A Chronicles of Riddick set with Pitch Black and The Chronicles of Riddick. And Natural Born Killers, which I bought because it was pretty cheap, five dollars I think, and watched it and realized it is a dreadful movie. I probably have a few more, but I don’t have my collection in sight at the moment.

Do you have any confessions about your movie watching setup at home?

My television is much too small to fully enjoy a visual movie. (28 inches I think) But the kicker, I do not own a blu-ray player. All of my movies are DVDs (except for an Inception combo pack I purchased in anticipation of buying a blu-ray player someday), which I may someday regret. Mostly I watch films on my computer, or through my Xbox.

Any other confessions you want to make?

Not anything about specific preferences in movies or anything, but when I am with my friends who are not as into film as I am, I cannot stand when they rave about movies that I know are bad. (Whether it has yet to come out or not.) I usually never make those feeling known. So maybe you could classify me as a closeted film snob.

Also I recently watched the second and third Transformers movies on television, all the way through, for pleasure. Its not that I like the movies, but it was a great time heckling every aspect about them.

– So there you have it. If you are interested in other blogger’s responses to these same questions, follow the link back at the top of the post.

6 comments

  1. I, too, did not really like CLOSE ENCOUNTERS. So you ain’t alone on that one.

    I also think that Brad Pitt is UNDERRATED, as opposed to overrated. He’s been in a LOT of good/challenging/non-blockbuster-type films, especially in recent years, that he doesn’t seem to get enough credit for. I can’t wait to see KILLING THEM SOFTLY.

    1. S. Stephens · · Reply

      I guess my biggest beef with Pitt is that he tends to overact a lot. Not all of the time, he was great in Tree of Life and Moneyball. But consider 12 monkeys, Snatch, Burn After Reading, Meet Joe Black, and even Fight Club and Se7en. Maybe its a lot of the characters he chooses to play but that has to come into effect as well.

      1. I actually agree with that. Sometimes his acting CAN be a bit grating, specifically in SEVEN. I don’t know if I would call that overacting but I know exactly what you mean. Some movies I think it’s actually intentional, such as TWELVE MONKEYS and SNATCH. It could maybe have been downplayed a tad in TWELVE MONKEYS, but I think it fit his character’s persona and was a good contrast to Willis’ James Cole character.

      2. S. Stephens · ·

        Usually it gets to me about two-thirds of the way through the film. It isn’t terrible acting, it just doesn’t sit with me very well for the most part.

  2. First of all I really like it that you have joined this blogathon, you are part of making it such a succesful one, thanks!

    I remember really being impressed by Close Encounter when I was younger and did buy the DVD set, but might have never rewatched it. I really should to see if I still like it.

    Of the movies you haven’t seen there are 3 (numbers 3, 6 and 10) I have not seen either. Out of the other ones I had owned 8 1/2 for ages and watched it a couple of months back and really did not like it much. It had some great shots, but I wasn’t a fan of the movie itself. If I would have to point out to watch as soon as possible I’d say E.T. which is a 10/10 for me (and I don’t give 10’s very easily)

    Robert Downey has this sparkle in his eyes which makes him interesting to watch. I always enjoy his performances, with my favorite movie he is in probably being Kiss Kiss Bang Bang.

    Have had Nacho Libre for ages and still not seen it, I generally enjoy Jack Black, so I might enjoy this movie too.

    I’m the same when it comed to the Godfather, still have not watched Part III!

    I’m probably a bit of a closeted film snob too as I will listen to people describing how amazing a specific movie is even though I know better. Sometimes I will say something, but other times I decide to keep my mouth closed or even take a suggestion for a movie I haven’t seen even if I know it is bad.

    1. S. Stephens · · Reply

      Thanks for the lengthy comment! I literally have sat down to watch 8 1/2 six times and have not made it past the half hour mark. (I feel kinda bad about it because it seems like a great movie) I think my dislike of Downey Jr. might be a bit of backlash to the love a lot of people have for his performances. I’ve been told I should watch Kiss Kiss Bang Bang a few times, maybe I’ll actually listen this time.

      When you watch Nacho Libre be prepared for some childish humor. (usually not my favorite but I’m not sure what got me while watching it) Thanks again for your thoughts. I’ll keep an eye out on your blog for the next one!

Leave a Reply

